How much fresh food?

• 9 Replies

Wizz

How much fresh food?
« on: February 04, 2009, 16:42 »
Just aquired 4 Sussex Lights and want to do the best for them.  I'm new to this and have had a look at several posts about feeding fresh food like lettuce, potatoes, apples etc.  I see most of you recommend cooking most of the stuff first, but if I wanted to give mine say fresh lettuce, greens, apples etc am I ok to feed this on a daily basis or just once in a while.  They are on layers pelletts with two small handfulls of corn at bed time - what time is bed time by the way? :(  I gave them four cos lettuce leaves this morning and there is only the string left! So I take it that's a yes then!  :D Also anything that is a definite no-no to feed them.

Thanks  :)

matthew2riches

• Experienced Member
Re: How much fresh food?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2009, 16:52 »
It is best to feed greens after they have had their staple mash or pellets, then treats during late afternoon before bed.

I also think you'll be able to judge by their poo.  If it's too runny then cut down on anything other than basic food.

woodburner

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2009, 18:01 »
lol I say the opposite, especially with the recent discoveries about intensive/grain fed animals and omega oils. Most mash/pellets have the added double no-no of processed soya. Not that being unprocessed is an improvement, raw soya is toxic/indigestable, even for animals!

If you can, provide everything ad lib, (except for Cobbs) possibly restricting the maize, as many people report their birds eating too much.
In the summer, I found that the silkies and chicks actually left the maize, and sometimes even turned up their noses at wheat, in favour of scratching in the leaf litter under the shrubs!
I demand the right to buy seed of varieties that are not "distinct, uniform and stable".

Molly Hen

« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2009, 19:13 »
I was told that lettuce can give them the runs ???