So are Epsom Salts organic or not then...?

• 10 Replies

Lady Lottie

• I love Hugh Fearnley Wearnley... :o))))
So are Epsom Salts organic or not then...?
« on: June 18, 2009, 11:55 »
Like many others I've got dodgy looking foliage on my potatoes, its my first year on my plot and I really want to try and save them (haven't planted much else!)

I want to try and be organic as poss.....have read that Epsom Salts may be a good solution to try and rectify a magnesium deficiency, which is what I think my spuds are suffering from.....RHS categorises Epsom salts as "chemical"..which technically I suppose it is....but it is a naturally occuring mineral, its not like its some hotchpotch of 4 million man made chemcials cooked up in a lab is it..?  I'm confused....am I just being thick...?   Is it or isn't it organic?  Does it even work?  Any thoughts anyone?   I suppose maybe the bigger question is, do i want to save my spuds or not? ::)  And I do....but......oh I dunno....

......someone out there help me please! ::) :lol:
"To forget how to dig the earth and to tend the soil is to forget ourselves." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Gardening requires lots of water - most of it in the form of perspiration." - Lou Erickson, cartoonist and illustrator

Glyn

Re: So are Epsom Salts organic or not then...?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2009, 12:21 »
Yes Epsom Salt is organic,  Magnesium sulfate (or magnesium sulphate) is a chemical compound containing magnesium and sulfate, with the formula MgSO4. In its hydrated form the pH is 6.0 (5.5 to 7.0). It is often encountered as the heptahydrate, MgSO4·7H2O, commonly called Epsom salt. Epsom salt has been traditionally used as a component of bath salts.   Magnesium sulfates are common minerals in geological environments.

8doubles

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2009, 15:25 »
If it is formed from plant or animal matter yes, if not no.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2009, 16:01 »
What does "Organic" mean ?

HLS