What's the going rate for 3 day old chicks?

• 11 Replies

rosie14

What's the going rate for 3 day old chicks?
« on: August 22, 2011, 10:24 »
I recently paid £10 each for 3, 3 day old chicks. Gold laced Orpie and 2 Bantam Orpies in lavender and black. I'm new to all this what's the going rate? I know POL Gold laced are about £25 here in kent is that right? thanks

Helenaj

Re: What's the going rate for 3 day old chicks?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2011, 12:57 »
Hi Rosie14. Reading your previous posts - you seem to have had a run of bad luck. :(

Easiest way to price chicks is to look at lots of other sites and get an average price for the breed you are intersted in. Most sites when they advertise chicks are advertising a price up to a week old, so you should get a rough idea. Price depends on the breed as well - rare breeds or rare colouring are far more expensive.
I recently bought (4 months ago) eight 2 day old Copper Black Maran hybrid chicks (sex linked) for £2.50 each.

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2011, 16:31 »
I got 3 rhode island reds for £5 each, but they turned out to be a tasty treat for a fox after 2 days. I now keep the new ones at a secret location. I can't say where incase the fox is reading this forum.

photo to follow shortly  :)
« Last Edit: August 22, 2011, 17:35 by joyfull »

rosie14

« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2011, 20:10 »
I got 3 rhode island reds for £5 each, but they turned out to be a tasty treat for a fox after 2 days. I now keep the new ones at a secret location. I can't say where incase the fox is reading this forum.

photo to follow shortly  :)

I know Mr Fox is supposed to be clever but really? lol!!! Best not say though just in case  :nowink:

rosie14

« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2011, 20:14 »
Hi Rosie14. Reading your previous posts - you seem to have had a run of bad luck. :(

OMG you said it begginers bad luck or what?!