how much compost and top soil and how to mix?

• 10 Replies

mark evans

how much compost and top soil and how to mix?
« on: April 01, 2011, 08:59 »
HELLO  all im new to this growing stuff lol i have made a raised bed which is 2m x 1m and 12" deep which is placed on concrete slabs, now time to fill with soil and compost but dont know how much i need nor how much topsoil to compost to use and do you mix the compost with the soil or do you have 2 layers ? please can you help as i want to start growing my veg  :( thanks MARK

prakash_mib

Re: how much compost and top soil and how to mix?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2011, 09:04 »
mark
I would first put an inch or two of BeeQ 10mm gravel at the bottom. and then top it up with good topsoil for the first year (up to half the height) and then gradually start adding organic matter further up the year.
thats what I have done for my patio raised bed. and had a fairly good success. :)
One kid is handful. Two kids.... Example for chaos theory. Hats off to my mum who managed three...

mark evans

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2011, 09:07 »
so just adding a 50% mix of topsoil and compost is not advised then ?

prakash_mib

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2011, 09:28 »
that would be a moot point. but adding gravel at the bottom makes the soil saturate rather than the water running down. and keeps the water for some time in the soil. adding more compost will drain the water quickly and you might need to top it up with water and feed quite regularly.

mark evans

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2011, 09:55 »
sorry dont quit understand like i said im new to all this lol so put gravel in first couple of inch for drainage,then can i just fill the rest with compost and soil mix? is 50/50 mix ok? can i fill it now and start planting veg? and the big question how much in litre would i need? sorry to be a pain lol just dont want to make a mess of this

Gandan57

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2011, 10:03 »