Too late to plant....

• 14 Replies

snooziebunny

Too late to plant....
« on: June 03, 2014, 21:45 »
butternut squash? Hope not, but I'm still learning - can I plant some? Thankyou xx
Sarah xx

Spr0ut

Re: Too late to plant....
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2014, 21:47 »
- hope not, because mine are going out this weekend!

snooziebunny

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2014, 21:54 »
Oh good! Do you have plants or is it seeds you're putting in? I have seeds - gonna put some in anyway, can't grown anything if its still in its packet I guess  :D

fatbelly

« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2014, 21:56 »
Sowed mine 2 weeks ago and they went into the ground today.
Made the mistake in past years of sowing / planting too early.

The dreadful summer we had a couple of years ago when it rained nearly every day was preceded by a glorious spell in late April / early May when the temps were close to mid 70s for about a week so I sowed thinking summer was here. I planted out around 10th May and a few days later the weather turned cold with hail and driving winds & I lost every single plant.
99% Organic and 1% Slug Pellets.

Allotment holder since 27th May 2007.

AnneB

« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2014, 22:13 »
I normally aim to plant squash and courgettes in the ground in the first week in June.   I sow around 10-15 days before this, so I can harden off for a week first. 

I am slightly late this year.   My two squash this year, Connecticut Field and Thelma Sanders Potato, are hardening off this week and will go in on Saturday.

I find butternut squash quite difficult to grow successfully,  both to get going and to actually produce the squash.  I have more success with other types of winter squash.  Last year I grew some lovely Boston Squash from Real Seeds.   I got 3 huge squashes that lasted until March.   The freezer still has quite a stock.

snooziebunny

« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2014, 22:22 »