Perch size & Nest box size

• 18 Replies

geoffwales

« on: July 19, 2008, 15:29 »
WooHoo nearly finnished the coop, i could do with the suggested perch width and length  per chicken ie would 2" x 1" be ok for the perch

also what size should the nest box be im thinking 12" x 12" x 12" High

poultrygeist

« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2008, 16:35 »
yes and yes.  :)  But round the top corners of the 2x1.

Don't forget to post a few photos when you have it finished. We can al pinch ideas for our next efforts then  :D

Rob  8)

karlooben

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2008, 20:42 »
please post pics please ,i am in the process of building the run but may start shortly on the house an i am so stuck of what to do for the inside .

if i decide not to build my own house { i'e i can make it as big as i want } i do have a 6' 4  shed that will hopfully house 10 birds quite comfortably but as i am new to this i need as many ideas as poss .
"Until one has loved an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

poultrygeist

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2008, 20:59 »
My coop is only suitable for 6 and is basically just a box with loose perches and a nest box tacked on.

Wouldn't really help you I don't think, since you'll need to think much bigger.

Maybe someone with a bigger coop can post some photos.

Is there any particular aspect you're struggling with ?

Rob  :)

WoodyK

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2008, 13:57 »
Hello

I get my 3 ex batts on Saturday and i am currently building their new home.

How high should the perches be, especialy as they are going to be pretty unfit to start with?

Sorry if this is a stupid question but i'm new to this.

Thanks

Woody

kimT

• http://www.thepoultrygarden.com
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2008, 16:55 »
Hi Woody

You have to remember that these little souls have never had a perch so you might find they will struggle with a perch at first but give them time they may like it as they adjust to their new surroundings.