Just starting

• 8 Replies

Just starting
« on: March 17, 2008, 16:02 »
Hi I am just starting out, actually I have a house (hubby is building nesting box as I type).  The chickens are yet to appear.  Is there any advice you can give me?  My chooks will be living in a converted shed which is 4 x 5 ft and just under 5'7 high. they will have a run to the side which is around 5ft by 3ft with a couple of small bushes in.  I have left the bushes in as I though it would provide some interest.  Is this large enough for 3 chickens?  Also if we build them little ramps do you think they would climb up the to roost on a shelf?  Any advice would be appreciated.  I have read loads of articles and have a Katie Thear book but i recognise that experience is the best teacher!

naturesparadise

Just starting
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2008, 16:11 »
well if your just starting your in the right place welcome to the forum

lots of info and help here and we are happy to help in any way we can

mdueal

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.averysmallholding.co.uk/
Just starting
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2008, 17:03 »
That sounds like a wonderful setup - loads of room for three chickens! Ours hop/fly up onto perches to roost so no ramps necessary. I remember someone saying that they will sit in height order according to who is boss so they all want to sit on the top one if you provide perches at different levels!!

Viv

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.oldmotherhubbardsgarden.blogspot.com
Just starting
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2008, 17:24 »
Welcome, you are in the right place, take your time and look in the Poultry information pages, there is loads of information posted in there.
Ask the questions and you will get the answers. Everyone is very helpful and friendly.  :D  :D
Happiest in the countryside.
Breathe deeply, and let the butterflies fly in formation!

babe

• elvis king of chooks
Just starting
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2008, 17:54 »