1st Post

• 13 Replies

TonyW

1st Post
« on: November 03, 2010, 15:58 »
Afternoon all

I've just joined the site after many months of reading and decided to take the plunge today!

I got 5 chickens about 6 months ago and they have all settled in really well. Took about 3 weeks to start laying but now they are unstoppable. 

About 6 weeks ago one of my girls (lolly) seemed to be a bit under the weather and seeing as she was at the top of the pecking order this was most out of character. 
I noticed that she had an enlarged crop and as I'm still quite new to keeping chooks, after reading different poultry books I rang the place where I got them from and he gave me the number for the vets they use. 

Next day I was at the vets and poor old lolly had to be held upside down whilst her crop was squeezed and emptied. 
After several days of being quarantined and given the medicine the vet supplied she was really coming along well. 

Then the same thing happened last week so off to the vets again but this time he said it wouldn't be fair on her to repeat the process and the best thing would be to put her to sleep :-( 

The vet thought she had eaten a lot of straw which caused a blockage but I removed all the straw from the house etc yet it happened again. 

Has anyone had a similar experience because I obviously don't want it happening to any of the others.

Thanks in advance

Tony

orchardlady

Re: 1st Post
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2010, 19:25 »
Hello Tony and welcome, welcome. You will find lots of friendly and useful advice on this forum. I'm so sorry to hear about you poorly hen. I very recently had a young hen with the same problem..Sour Crop. You can either read the conversation I had by typing Sour Crop. Advice Welcome in the box on the right hand top of this page and or just type Sour Crop into the same box and you'll get all the references to the problem. There is also a useful 'stickie' page on the condition.