Composting Fish tank waste

• 7 Replies

Ben_H

• Experienced Member
Composting Fish tank waste
« on: June 21, 2011, 07:46 »
Morning,

Did a quick site search but couldn't find anything so here goes.

I have been composting the waste from my tropical fish tank for the last two years - plants, fish poo, some sand. I don't mix it in with my general compost as I'm uncertain about any toxins building up within the tank system. The compost it makes is very fine and I've just put a load down under a hedge in the garden as mulch but at the moment I'm loath to put it anywhere near fruit and veg or the chickens which will hopefully be arriving in the next fortnight.

Is anyone else on here doing the same? Should I just mix it in with my general compost or should I not be doing it at all? I guess my main concern is the additive that goes in to treat the tap water. I suppose I could always send a sample off somewhere but that's probably an expensive last resort

Cheers

Ben

8doubles

Re: Composting Fish tank waste
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2011, 08:24 »
Whenever i de sludge the small ponds it goes straight on the raspberry cane bed and they love it.
As you say best to keep it away from fruit and veg that will be eaten raw as warm water and fish poo will be a breeding ground for harmful  bacteria.
I think composted the aquarium waste will be fine.

Nobbie

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2011, 08:40 »
I'd say it would be fine in the main compost bin and will be safe to use on crops. Cow poo is full of bacteria as well and most of us use that without worry. The additive doesn't seem to do the fish any harm, so again I don't see a problem.

Dominic

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2011, 09:47 »
Fish create ammonia.
Bacteria in the tank turn that into Nitrite
Another group opf Bacteria turn that into Nitrate

Nitrate is one of the three base fertilisers, NPK

Not entirely sure what your "composting", yiour weekly 10% water change shouldnt pull out that much solid material.