to cover or not

• 5 Replies

finleyfreyaseth

• Experienced Member
to cover or not
« on: October 02, 2012, 15:48 »
this probably covered elswere but what are peoples opinions on wether to cover the ground not bein used over winter or to leave bare to the elements ? im new to this only 1 full year ish and just thinkin wats best to do ,farmers dont cover bare ground over winter so why the need on allotments?

Fisherman

Re: to cover or not
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2012, 15:56 »
Unless you are trying to kill a severe infestation of weeds I would leave it roughly dug for the weather to break it down. Apply manure / compost as per your crop requirements i.e. manure for potatoes and greens and compost for root crops. Perhaps cover areas with plastic sheeting in February / March in order to warm up the soil for any early sowing / planting.

crh75

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2012, 15:57 »
There is no right or wrong, generally people with light sandy soil may want to cover (including using green manure) to stop rain washing nutrients and soil away and people with heavy soil would tend to leave the soil bare for frosts to help break it up.

Farmer's don't cover because it would not be practical.

Fatfingers

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2012, 12:33 »
You could cover it over with a garden fleece as this will keep the soil warmer, allow rain through and stop wind dispersed seeding landing on the plot - and its relatively cheap. Just bough some off eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=garden+fleece and its certainly par for the course. Just make sure you pegs it down well or cove the edges with bricks or soil.

finleyfreyaseth

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2012, 16:43 »