New coop, more hens!

• 3 Replies

Neil_B

New coop, more hens!
« on: July 11, 2012, 21:57 »
Hi guys,newbie here so be gentle  :)

We have a small chicken coop with attached run currently for our three girls: A coucou, a blacktail and an amber. We've had them since April this year. Previously we had three hens at our old house but dreaded mr fox got to them :(

I felt bad that we haven't been able to give e new girls free range of the garden so have converted a garden shed (6'x8') for them to live in and built a run alongside on an unused bed, the run is roughly the same size as the shed. Currently no cooks in the new run.

My main query stems from the fact that we are 'rescuing' three more hens (a skyline, a ginger nut ranger and a black maran)...

Should I wait until its dark and put all six hens in to the new coop one night and keep an eye on them over the weekend or is that going to cause feathers to fly?

Any help or advice would be greatfully received. I did try to search but couldn't really see anything the same as this query

Thanks

Neil

symonep

• Experienced Member
Re: New coop, more hens!
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 22:30 »
Don't do what I did and just plonk the new girls in with them  ??? I paid the price and had some very unhappy hens. I learnt very quickly! We took the out and split the run in two so they could see each other but not get to each other. After about a week I started removing the fence so they could mingle for an hour or two and after about 4 weeks they could tolerate each other enough for us to have them in one coop.

Seriously the old girls screamed and kicked up a huge fuss and I could have happily given them away as they started screaming at around 5 in the morning lol

Everyone said it would take about 3 weeks and I think if I hadn't been so stupid to begin with it would have been spot on.
Hopefully someone will e along with some sound advise though! Good luck