what to do with weeds?

• 15 Replies

gathsman

• Enjoying The Good Life!
what to do with weeds?
« on: April 21, 2012, 21:59 »
Hello.

My allotment has banned the use of Bonfires, as i'm new to allotmenteering I never really inderstood the implications of this, but now the better weather has arrived I am now beginning to find out!

My question is what should I do with the copious amounts of weeds I am now digging up?  Currently I just have them piling up next to my shed as I'm unable to bring them home to bin etc and there is nowhere to store them on my allotment.

I am currently digging up all manner of weeds such as dandelions, grasses prickly things.

Cheers

HilaryG

• Experienced Member
  • l
Re: what to do with weeds?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2012, 22:20 »
Hi there,
Most weeds can go on the compost heap. The heat generated in a reasonable sized heap should kill off most weeds. I have tried putting the worst offenders (dandelions, couch grass, dock, etc.) in a large bucket of water in the hope of drowning them after a few weeks. They go pretty soggy and then I put them on the compost with everything else.   :blush:
The less time you have, the more becomes available.

bazh

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2012, 22:29 »
The annual weeds should be composted or just dug in if your digging the ground over, unless you want to bag and take away the perennials you can drown them or dry them out if we ever see the sun for more than an hour at a time but drying out is risky unless we have a hot dry week (yeah right!)

I've just composted 2 blue barrels worth of bindweed roots that have been drowning for 3 months beware I nearly puked the smell was absolutely horrendous  :(
Faff free zone!

solway cropper

« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2012, 22:35 »
Weeds make a very good liquid feed but some, like couch grass need a few months of soaking as they seem almost indestructible. Never waste anything that you can find a use for.