Newbie question on growing potatoes

• 11 Replies

moretvicar

Newbie question on growing potatoes
« on: March 14, 2012, 13:53 »
Hi All.
Not a complete newbie as such but just aquired first allotment  :) and am after some advice on growing spuds in a bed system.
What would be your advice on spacings for a "typical" 4ft wide bed?

Second question, just ordered some seed, ETA one week - is it worth chitting earlies now, or should I plant them straight away?
Ta
Nick
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 13:59 by moretvicar »

Goosegirl

Re: Newbie question on growing potatoes
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2012, 14:41 »
I use a 4ft bed though I do have trouble earthing up two rows lengthwise. My D-I-Law was a farm labourer and they never chitted them but used to plant them deep and earth up at the same time. Spacings I have used before have been 12-15", depending on variety.
I work very hard so don't expect me to think as well.

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2012, 14:52 »
I agree, you will just fit 2 rows into a 4' wide bed. I plant mine 12" apart and 8" deep and earth up as they show. I think the jury is still out on chitting - some say you do, some say you don't  :)
There's more comfrey here than you can shake a stick at!

http://www.wedigforvictory.co.uk/dig_icon.gif[/img]

Ice

• muck spreader
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2012, 16:14 »
I have 8'x4' raised beds and get 28 potatoes in by planting seven rows of four spuds across the width.  With lots of manure and water I've always had a good crop.  I earth up by adding more manure and compost.  Werks fer me. :)
Cheese makes everything better.

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2012, 17:04 »
Given that many buy their seed spuds from garden centres which insist on stocking them from the beginning of January, chitting is more of a necessity than an option!