Banana Shallots and Onions

• 6 Replies

Auntiemogs

Banana Shallots and Onions
« on: February 29, 2012, 11:05 »
Hello all. A couple of questions if you don't mind as it is my first year with alliums.

Firstly, I planted some banana shallots from sets last year but nothing is peeking yet.  :( Does it take a while to get them going (I would have a furtle but don't have many so I don't want to disturb them)? The bulbs feel firm and are not rotted at all.

Secondly, I also planted some overwintering onion sets last year (Senshyu Yellow and Karmen) and they seem to be doing ok (so far). The problem is that in my enthusiasm last year I also ordered some spring sets (Stuttgarter Giant & Red Baron) which have now arrived and I don't have space for them.  ::)
I can plant a few in my (small) brassica bed but would it be ok to put them in 3" pots for a few months to grow on and then maybe hoik the others out early for pickling/freezing (as I know the Senshyu will not store well) and then plonk the potted ones in? If I were to do this, what is the latest I could do this? 

All help would be greatly appreciated.

Mags  :)
I would rather live in a world
where my life is surrounded by mystery
than live in a world so small that my mind could comprehend it...✿~ Harry Emerson Fosdick

BabbyAnn

Re: Banana Shallots and Onions
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 11:42 »
Shallots don't grow like garlic or overwintering onions - their leaves won't make a show until it starts to get warmer, but don't worry, the bulbs sitting in the soil are growing roots and ready for putting a spurt on when it gets warmer.

Not sure about potting on and planting out summer onions in a bed already used for overwintering onions - personally I wouldn't but then I also have the dreaded white onion rot on my plot so always wary.

How about interplanting/companion planting some among your other crops such as carrots or beetroot, celery ... ?

Ivor Backache

« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 12:19 »