My plot plan/design...is it realistic to do this or not?

• 20 Replies

Paulj

• Experienced Member
I don't want to offend any traditionalists, but that's not me at all.  As mentioned in other posts I'm a novice allotmenteer, but have a background in design (which I don't get to exercise enough in my job as that's marketing!), so I've been thinking about my plot design and would like to do something a little different (at least it would be compared to anything else on our site).

Our plot is small by many peoples standards, but quite adequate for us - 12m x 3m.  Many of the allotments in our site are larger and might for instance dedicate a plot size of 9m square to carrots or leeks or onions.  We don't want that much of anything though as we wouldn't eat it all.

Instead I would like to do something more creative with my layout and have come up with this using the Suttons planner:

I'll be using some wooden veg boxes to grow some of the salad veg in, and am looking for other more creative ideas too, but need to esablish if this will work as it is.

Something I am sceptical about from the planner is the quantities it suggest I can plant in the rows I have created (full details of the plan are here, including quantities: http://gardenplanner.suttons.co.uk/garden-plan.aspx?p=194586.  For instance, it suggests that in a space of 2.3m (single row) I could have 23 carrots, or in a space of 0.8m x 1.1m I could have 35 Onion plants.  Does this sound right?

For most of the veg I will stagger the planting of each type of a few weeks to ensure they can be harvested over a few weeks.

Extra info: