Manure questions

• 8 Replies

Nicki85

• Experienced Member
Manure questions
« on: August 30, 2011, 20:55 »
Hi all :) 

It's my first year on the plot and I'm currently winding down as the soil needs improving.  I'm planning on leaving most of the beds empty and manuring over winter. 

I have a free supply of pure horse manure which I am bringing down to the allotment trug by trug!  So a few questions...

How long does it take horse manure to rot down?  I'm currently digging a hole in the manure heap at the yard and taking the black soil like stuff... However it would make my life easier if I could take the stuff off the top!

I know that you can not grow some crops (like carrots...) on freshly manured soil.  However, if i'm manuring it all now to rest over winter will I be OK to plant carrots etc. in the spring?  Or should I leave a few beds un-manured for these crops?

Although i'm using horse manure I thought I could also sow some green manure on top of it to provide some more organic matter to dig in.... Could I do this?  Or would it be a waste of money/ time?  I was thinking about field beans as they can be sown now to stand over winter...

The soil needs improving both nutritionally and structure.  I have about 2-3ft of top soil and under that is london clay... It is also very stony and the soil itself isn't that good.

Thoughts welcome :-)  Thanks in advance  8)

Growster...

Re: Manure questions
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2011, 21:28 »
Hi Nicki,

I can answer some of this, but there are also better people who can fill in the gaps here...

The old stuff needs to be close on a year old, so don't expect to use the new stuff at the top. Can they tell you how long it's been there?

Correct about carrots, leave them out of the equation for now, and put them in an unmanured bed. I presume you'll plant these somewhere which may have had some goodness this year? They should grow well, but watch out for the carrot fly (see elsewhere here...)