growing garlic

• 10 Replies

van connick

• Experienced Member
  • Location: on a mountainside in south Wales. north of Pontypridd, west of Merthyr Tydfil.
growing garlic
« on: September 15, 2007, 06:39 »
as you know i am new to this allotment lark  :cry: and not sure where to begin or what to grow, but one thing i would like to grow is garlic.

can i just plant a clove of garlic from the shop?
i have heard they need feeding a lot, is that true?
and is it garlic that has that wonderful purple ball shaped flower?
does it invade the plot like wild garlic does in woods, or does it stay in one place?
would it be ok in full sun or does it need dappled shade like wild garlic?

sorry so many questions  :oops:

crowndale

growing garlic
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2007, 09:38 »
The purple ball shaped flower is chives if it's anything like this, actually this is before the flowers open, could swear I took later ones but obviously not!:

Garlic shouldn't invade if it is harvested I'd have thought but chives will, I am forever picking off self seeded chives from the surrounding veges beds and paths!

This is one of my garlic plants early in the season (sadly they didn't improve much this year! It didn't flower at all.

Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

agapanthus

growing garlic
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2007, 09:52 »
Garlic grown from the bulbs we buy at the supermarkets will grow but the cloves will probably be quite small. It is better to grow from bulbs bought from a reputable source because the varieties they offer are bred to be grown over here.

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
growing garlic
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2007, 12:15 »
I'm amazed that our resident garlic expert has not had something to say on this thread......DAVID!

(aka WG aka whisy_golf)
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

WG.