What are the differences between rhode island red and rhode island red bantam?

• 8 Replies

salt and pepper

• 5 Rhode Island red bantams and a golden retreiver
Hi everyone,

I'm new to keeping chickens, and are going to be looking around at different breeders, which taken advise from other post  :D
I have a Eglu Classic and want to make sure they have enough room inside, sugestion from omlet is 2 large breed / 4 medium breed or 6 bantam.
i'm wanting good egg production, friendly with children, hardy and pleasing to our eye :happy:
i thought i'd like 3 chickens of medium breed but not sure now.
what is the difference between the rhode island red and the rhode island red bantam ? do they both produce good amount of eggs and still produce in winter  ? is there much difference in size of egg ?  :unsure:

bantam novice

I am no expert; however I would think that the only difference would be in the size of the birds.  The bantam would be a smaller version of the full-size RIR and the eggs would be bantam size. 

If space is an issue you would be able to keep a few more bantams in the same space than full-size hens.
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
these aren't tiny bantams like Dutch, Sabelpoots and Belgians so their eggs would be about 2/3rds the size of the large fowl version.
Staffies are softer than you think.

AL Hathaway

• Experienced Member
  • I Love Chicken TV
    • Five Valleys Poultry
Hi a bantam Rohode Island is about the size of a Poland and weigh in at 1.5 to 1.7 lbs and lay a small egg but lay every day.

now if you get a traditional Large Fowl Rhode Island red they are a very large bird and lay large brown eggs weigh in at 8.5 pounds.They are a utility bird, raised for meat and eggs,both birds are friendly and easy enough to tame into a pet.