Hiya, Newbie here!!

• 5 Replies

Kiea

Hiya, Newbie here!!
« on: June 20, 2011, 01:23 »
Hiya
I have just got my 2 girls from one of the sellers that advertise on Poultry Pages.

I am over the moon with them, and I'm already in love!!
They are 2 warrens (not named yet, got so many old fashioned lady names, just don't know which ones to go for!!) .
The lady i bought them from, was so helpful, but I forgot to ask a couple of questions, (i was so excited!)
They are POL ,  and they seemed to have settled in really well, they have been on the grass today in their run. My questions are.... Should I let them settle in before I let them have the run of the garden? and also, will they fly? I'm just worried in case they fly away... I have googled and it does give varying answers. 
They are really friendly, love the noises they make, I see where the saying, rosey like mother hens comes from now, they don't seem to be bothered being picked up, but can i "Mither" them to much..??

Sorry to sign up to the forum and ask all these questions, just want to do right by my little ladies!!

Thank You in advance
 :)
Springer Spaniel (boris) , Cat (Fluffs)  , 2 Berber Skinks (lizards) (Deli and Yojojo) and 2 Warrens (so many names!!)

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
Re: Hiya, Newbie here!!
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2011, 01:36 »
Hello Kiea.  I'm not surprised you have fallen for your new chickens.  It seems to happen to all of us!  :lol:

It is a good idea to keep your new girls confined for a few days to be sure they are settled in before letting them out into the garden.  Anything from a few days to a week should do it.  You will see when they confidently put themselves to bed each night that they are settled.  You shouldn't have to round them up and put them away.

Some chickens are more likely to fly than others.  This depends on breed, and on individual temperament.  I don't know about Warrens so hopefully other people with experience of the breed will be able to help you.