Damaged leg

• 6 Replies

viettaclark

Damaged leg
« on: May 18, 2011, 12:53 »
Lulu has damaged a leg by flying up and knocking it on a chair in a moment of hysteria!
She is not putting weight on it at all but it seems to work ok as she lowers and raises it occasionally so would it be broken?
She is eating and drinking and flew out of the coop for treats this lunchtime then collapsed again. She uses her wing for support and shuffles about on her tum but mostly just lies there.
She did it yesterday morning and managed to get up into the coop to lay an egg!
Last night she collapsed in the coop doorway and the younger ones piled in on top of her with bums sticking out of the pophole so I had to adjust them all to close it!!
Should I give it some time? I tried to look but she flapped so much I was worried about hurting her more.....

Kathie

• Experienced Member
Re: Damaged leg
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 13:05 »
Hi, I'm no expert but I would take her to the vet.  Good luck
3 dogs now, 2 passed RIP Poppy and Paige, one wonderful husband and a new adventure on this wonderful island

PaulineM

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2011, 13:34 »
Hi
She could have dislocated it, I agree a trip to the vet by the sounds of it  :(
1 Hubby, 2 children, 2 Welsummers, 1 Leghorn Banty, 1 Wyandotte Banty, 1 Barnevelder, 2 Isa Brown, 1 Rhode Island, 1 Goldline,1 Maran, 2 Mottled Leghorns, 1 Leghorn cockerel & 2 Jack Russells

Beano

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2011, 13:35 »
I would also take her to the vet, if only for some painkillers. Meanwhile make sure that she does not have any opportunities to climb or hop onto anything, in case she falls and makes things worse. If you can separate her within view of the others and keep her on level ground and calm all the better. Hopefully time and rest and painkillers will soon get her on the mend.
El.

orchardlady

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2011, 21:10 »