My babies are here...am I doing everything right now?? with pics :)

• 9 Replies

Carla

• Experienced Member
Collected my 7 week old babies today, a speckeldy and a bluebelle, they are gorgeous, quite friendly and VERY noisy :) They are in the large rabbit cage in my laundry for now. They have water, growers and the lady I had them off said wait until they're 10 weeks before putting them where the others can see them. So I'll sort a section of the run out for them in a week or so, until then, can I let them go outside, using the top of the cage as a secure run for them? Is there anything else I should be doing?? Do they need grit and shell yet and when should I worm them? Sorry to keep asking all these questions :/
chicks.jpg
chicks 2.jpg
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 21:22 by Carla »
Many pets, a bloke and 2 kids....help!!!

gracie

• Experienced Member
Re: My babies are here...am I doing everything right now??
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 19:55 »
I'm only new to this but I cant see what delaying letting the chickens see each other will achieve. I can understand not putting them in together, but would have thought that the quicker they see each other they quicker they will get used to each other.  Someone will be along later to advise. Good luck with them

bantam novice

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2011, 20:07 »
How lovely  :)  How about some photos?  :D
I am only just starting to get to grips with chicks myself.  My broody bantam mother does all the work.  I just supply food water and shelter!  They are a week and a half old, their run is in sight of the other bantams and, yes, the chicks make a lot of noise!
Good luck and keep us posted.
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

Carla

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2011, 20:07 »