How to cover an area we want to keep fallow this year??!

• 5 Replies

bigjemmett

Hi,

I'm new to allotmenting (and also have two children aged 2 and 6 months) and so want to work on our new allotment in managable sections. SO - we need to cover over an area and deal with it next year - BUT WHAT SHOULD I COVER IT OVER WITH?

I put down some weed cover fabric but the berry bushes and other weeds have just burst through. I'm due to cut them all back at the weekend and cover them over again BUT WHAT SHOULD I USE?

Feeling slightly overwhelmed by all the different advice!

Rebecca :wacko:

Nikkithefoot

Re: How to cover an area we want to keep fallow this year??!
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 19:47 »
You can over with many things, but if there are bushes etc you want to keep then you have to cover round them.

Black plastic, doesn't allow water through, and the soil may become stagnant or sour under neath. Good for killing weeds if left in place long enough by excluding light.

Old carpet, not a good idea as thought to leach chemicals into the soil, but good for killing weeds by excluding lightand does let water through

Landscape fabric, allows water through, and also good for killing weeds by excluding light. This is the most expensive option if you get the proper stuff. I wouldn't waste my time on heap versions as they are likely to rot and not do such a good job.

Anything to exclude light, thick mulch of bark, compost, manure. By thick I mean at least 3-4 inches otherwise weeds will grow through quite readily. Manure would be my choice here as you are also feeding the ground you are leaving fallow.
I was put on this earth to accomplish a certain number of things; right now I am so far behind I will never die.

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 19:50 »