Hen walking on her big toe?

• 7 Replies

Liv

Hen walking on her big toe?
« on: April 07, 2011, 20:10 »
Hi, one of my hens has just started only putting weight on the front part of her big toe and I can't work out what has happened or to what part of her foot? I'm hoping someone will have a better idea than me of what's wrong with her and what I should do?
Thankyou, Liv :( x

cattiemeg

Re: Hen walking on her big toe?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2011, 21:28 »
hi ,have you checked her feet to see if theres any muck or debris under it? :blush:

Liv

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2011, 16:38 »
Yes, it all looks fine, her joint in her toe looks a bit swollen or broken? I'm not sure how best to attempt to fix this?

PaulineM

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2011, 19:39 »
Hi
I'm not very experienced in anything like this but if you don't think a trip to the vets is in order you could maybe try putting a fabric sticking plaster on her toe to act as a strapping but as I say this is only a guess so decide yourself if this might be an options,
Good luck  :)
1 Hubby, 2 children, 2 Welsummers, 1 Leghorn Banty, 1 Wyandotte Banty, 1 Barnevelder, 2 Isa Brown, 1 Rhode Island, 1 Goldline,1 Maran, 2 Mottled Leghorns, 1 Leghorn cockerel & 2 Jack Russells

bantam novice

« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2011, 22:59 »
It may be bumble foot.  If you type bumble foot into the search box in the top right hand corner you should be able to find lots of info about this.

If you think the toe is broken I would agree that a trip to the vet is in order.  You will need to find a local chicken-friendly vet.  Not all of them are, and some even refuse to treat chickens.

Good Luck and keep us posted!  :)
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

muntjac

« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2011, 07:33 »