Beginnger Questions - Taters

• 5 Replies

tudou

Beginnger Questions - Taters
« on: March 24, 2011, 09:57 »
Hi all,

Just moved into my first house last year and have undertaken the process of clearing all the gravel chips out the garden to reveal some rather nice soil.

So far I've got about 12 square metres dug up and raked. I was planning on chucking some Arran Pilots in the ground, but this is my first attempt at doing any kind of gardening  ???, can anyone offer some guidance?

The area we live in is built on old farm land and my neighbour said the soil is quite good as a result. The garden area is raised up and on a slope with a retaining wall in front.

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Beginnger Questions - Taters
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2011, 10:15 »
Welcome to the site!

Please add your approximate location to your "Forum profile information" (click on your username in this thread.) This can help with giving more suitable replies to your questions.

You seem to have got some decent soil to start off with and don't need to restrict yourself to just growing spuds.

A good place to start reading up about what you could grow, and how, is here:

http://www.allotment-garden.org/growing_information.php
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

tudou

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2011, 10:36 »
I also bought some seed packets of carrots, broccoli and squash. I hope I'm right in thinking that I should probably hold off on planting until sometime in April, just in case there's another frost (not at all unlikely here).

I was also curious, should I level off the area I'm planting on? I was just concerned that when it rains it might wash some soil away or am I just being paranoid and so long as the soil is well dug it should absorb most of the water.

Thanks!

JayG

• Global Moderator