SEEDS FOR NEXT YEAR

• 6 Replies

Glastonbury 10

SEEDS FOR NEXT YEAR
« on: August 05, 2006, 13:20 »
Broad beans/pea's do i leave a number of pods on the plant and allow to dry or do i pick and dry, do i shell ? please help
what else seed wise can i keep?
noticed ontop of the sweet corn head there were small number of kernals/seed are these ok to keep for next years plants?
Pete :?

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
SEEDS FOR NEXT YEAR
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2006, 21:48 »
I suppose broad beans and peas are the same as runner beans Pete.  I have been saving my own seed for the past 4 years.  When we moved to this house I bought a packet of runner bean seeds, then the man who was looking after the bungalow next door gave me loads of beans and I saved the seeds and have done each year.  This year though I bought a packet of Lady Di which are supposed to be stringless, but don't look or taste any different than my others! When I find a runner bean that I have missed, and its going brown, leave it on the plant until it goes a lot browner (but not too early in the season or the plant may think you're not going to pick anymore beans from t and start to die down)  Pick the pods and I leave them on a tray so they are not touching each other in a dry place.  I have had pods go mouldy on me.  When they are completely dry, open up the pods and store the seeds in paper bags again in a dry place.

I'm going to try saving more seeds this year, as are osme of the others on here.  With tomatoes, they say you should put the pulpy bit with the seeds into a glass jar, fill 3/4 of the way with water, leave for 3 days until it starts to ferment, then remove seeds and dry, keep as others.  

Each time we find a new way of saving seeds, we'll have to tell everyone else!

Laura

• http://www.catsthatlooklikehitler.com
seeds for next year...
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2006, 22:05 »