What is it about me and seeds, They just don't like me.

• 22 Replies

AshtonPete

• British Military Vehicles
Hi everyone,
I recently planted some hot chilli seeds, I impatiently waited for them to show and uncurl.
Then when they did I was elated, as a few days went on, they shot up out of control.
I didn't know if this was the norm or what, as I'm new to all this.
Then I was told too leggy, not enough light, so I bought 8 clamp on lamp holders and 8 white daylight bulbs (pretty expensive).
I tried again with all this light blazing down on all my seeds, not just chillis.
My sweet peas just shot up and I mean 2 inch in two days. I started to get frustrated as I thought I was sussing it out.
Then I was told it was too cold, so I got an oil heater and got the room to 85 fahrenheit and humidity of 30%, This I was told was perfect.
So time went on and I planted some more seeds, Swede, Parsnip, Jalapeno and Cayenne peppers and more sweet peas.
The Swede has shot up quicker than Jacks beenstalk and so has my sweet peas yet again.
I bought 10 Dorset Naga seeds (Bhut Jolokia) off eBay and frightened to death of planting them in case of disaster as its looking that way.
I am at my wits end and feel like giving up and just buying them all from B&Q or somewhere, but if I do that I have been defeated.
Then I was told to buy a light bulb for Hydroponics, it was about £48 quid and looked like a bleeding great gattling gun.
Needless to say I didn't buy it as I thought there are more issues here than lighting.
Can someone get me going in the right direction with seeds?
They are in my dining room against the window sill but I NEVER get any sunlight Anytime of the year.
Here is what my testing station looks like....My Botanic Garden.

http://www.telewester.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/images/seed%20setup.jpg

Hellllp!!! What am I doing wrong?
Regards
Pete
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 10:53 by AshtonPete »

DD.

• Global Moderator