Best time to sow?

• 9 Replies

billathome65

• Experienced Member
Best time to sow?
« on: February 07, 2011, 12:55 »
As the weather is still bad and I'm new to this lark I was wondering what is the best time to start sowing seeds in seed trays ready for transplanting. I know seed packets have growing months etc on packaging but how many sow latter or earlier than these guidelines? Just trying to gauge this so I can work it into my weekly routine when I'm not in work taking into account that Manchester gets quite a lot of rain.

Cheers Bill
The best way to learn to do something is to do something.

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Best time to sow?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2011, 12:58 »
It's usually expressed as between certain months.

For stuff that's going outside I aim for middle ground. My greenhouse is heated, so I can go for early with those plants.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

billathome65

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2011, 13:04 »
Thanks DD I don't have a greenhouse but could sow in seed trays in the garage which has a few plastic corrugated panels on the roof so got light coming in. What would you suggest here that I could start sowing now?

Cheers Bill

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2011, 13:12 »
Nothing.

The light intensity will not be suffiient in there, you may think so, but your eyes adjust.

You'll need full light on a window sill minimum.

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2011, 13:13 »
Seed packet will usually have the starting time "indoors" and a separate time for "outdoors"

You need three things: Heat, Light and Space.