New Hens

• 18 Replies

Frizzle1

• Experienced Member
New Hens
« on: February 02, 2011, 19:04 »
I know this is not a new question but I need to find out about introducing one odd hen to five new ones. Problem is it's not gonna be easy seperating them as all I will have is a new coop housing five hens with a fixed outside run so will have no room to put them close by to get them use to my old hen. Is there any other suggestions other than separation for three weeks which was successful in the past but I just won't have the room to do this now. She will definately be wearing anti peck spray and so will I, always do.

cammi

• Experienced Member
Re: New Hens
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2011, 19:47 »
Sorry Im a newbie, and i picked up another girl today.  Am i reading this right YOU wear anti peck spray too?  Why is this
11 Chickens (Rhode Rock, Bluebell, Copper Black, Columbine, Coucou, Mystery Hen, Clarance Court, Araucana, brown hen ) , 3 Cats (1 mog, 1 bengal, 1 Bengal x),  2 Little Boys, 1 dog (Golden Retriever) and 1 Husband

jinty1911

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2011, 19:59 »
What about a dogs cage inside the run? A wooden box or something like that inside the cage?  Not ideal but better than her getting bullied  :(

Frizzle1

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2011, 20:47 »
Well the answer to your question about will i be wearing it, not literally but i always end up with it on my clothes depending on what way the wind is blowing lol. I have thought about a dog cage but think it will take up too much room in the run, plus when it comes to locking them up in the house of a night to stop mr foxy grabbing them she will be left in the run in her cage and he might dig under and take her, would never forgive myself if that happenens wouldnt sleep if i thought any of them were left out where he could see them.

orchardlady

« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2011, 21:50 »