Aaarrghh - water logged plot

• 14 Replies

mattyslsot

Aaarrghh - water logged plot
« on: January 26, 2011, 12:54 »
Went over the allotment on Sunday and it was water logged.  Well more like a fishing lake.  Im going to have to put raised beds in but what do you guys use to bring the soil level up?  Compost or topsoil?
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 19:07 by Aunt Sally »

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
Re: Aaarrghh
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2011, 13:20 »
What is causing the flooding (apart from the rain  :tongue2: )? If its just compacted soil then double digging and drainage trenches might sort it (worked for me  :) )
There's more comfrey here than you can shake a stick at!

http://www.wedigforvictory.co.uk/dig_icon.gif[/img]

mattyslsot

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2011, 14:25 »
Im new to the plot and the guy next to me said that the end we are at always gets water logged as were at the bottom of the slope.  Plus it is clay soil 2 spits below the surface.

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2011, 14:37 »
Wonder if you could dig drainage ditches, using the good soil to make raised "lazy" beds?

(I've got the opposite problem to yours so probably best to wait for someone who really knows what he/she is talking about!)  :)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

Runwell-Steve

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2011, 14:39 »
Our site has a flooding problem, we also are basically clay.  I have built some raised beds where needed and used manure / old compost to raise the level.  I have also raised the level elsewhere by adding loads and loads of manure over the last couple of years.  It breaks the clay up, improving drainage and puts nutrients into the soil.