rolling around in dirt?!

• 10 Replies

kellym

rolling around in dirt?!
« on: November 21, 2010, 14:08 »
afternoon everyone just a quicky today  :) i cleaned my 2 girls out this morning and dug over all the soil thats in thier run. i added some pea gravel in thier too. they always scratch around in the mounds of soil but i went outside and found that one of them had dug a hole and was rolling around in it......she has never done that before???? is this normal??? started to panic when i saw her lay on her side and looking all scruffy lol

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: rolling around in dirt?!
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2010, 14:10 »
perfectly normal she was having a dust bath  :)
Staffies are softer than you think.

kellym

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2010, 14:16 »
thanks for that joyfull im new to all this so the first sign of something new i tend to ask about as dont know whats normal and what isnt at the moment lol  ::)

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2010, 14:19 »
just wait until you see them sunbathing - they lie on their sides with a wing outstretched and eyes closed. You sprint across the garden , fearing the worse, tripping over other birds and dogs and the little madams just open 1 eye as if to say "what?"

NormandyMary

« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2010, 14:37 »
just wait until you see them sunbathing - they lie on their sides with a wing outstretched and eyes closed. You sprint across the garden , fearing the worse, tripping over other birds and dogs and the little madams just open 1 eye as if to say "what?"
I just LOVE it when I see them doing their PILATES. When, in graceful movements, they stick each leg and wing out in very gracious movement. It never fails to make me roar with laughter.

orchardlady

« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2010, 15:02 »
My hens when dust bathing look like they are on some psychedelic drug. They look totally zoned out man! :nowink:

Springlands

« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2010, 15:22 »