Why are my chickens not laying?

• 15 Replies

DannyRD

Why are my chickens not laying?
« on: October 09, 2010, 17:29 »
Hi Guys
I am new to keeping chickens and new to the forum, so hello...! ;)

I took collection of four Marans about three weeks ago and they were 17 weeks old then... Since then they have been fed layers pellets, corn/seeds in the afternoon and i have made grit and oyster shell available at all times. Every afternoon they come out of their run and explore the garden for and hour or two and they are very happy little chooks.

So far their has not been a single egg! they sleep in their nesting boxes (and poo!) but no eggs... I was not expecting many eggs due to the shortening days but i was expecting 1 or 2 by now...

Any suggestions?

Danny

Ice

• muck spreader
Re: Why are my chickens not laying?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2010, 17:41 »
Have patience, 20 weeks is still quite young.  Block off the nest box at dusk, just before they retire for the night and remove it again after dark when they will have given up and used the perch instead.
Cheese makes everything better.

alancane

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2010, 17:45 »
20 weeks is still young and you may have to wait up to another 10 weeks or less, or more!

Wise man say - a watched kettle never boils  (not sure if the same applies to chickens)

Just enjoy having them and before long you will have your gifts waiting for you in the moinng. And welcome to the forum   :tongue2:
Alan

DannyRD

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2010, 17:51 »
Thank you guys...
I must say I am loving having them anyway and they are so friendly they peck out of my hands...

cheers  :tongue2:

Sassy

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2010, 19:44 »
Sorry but you may have to wait until after Christmas now. But the good news is that they will lay for longer! :)
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

orchardlady

« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2010, 20:11 »