When to harvest potatoes

• 6 Replies

RogerTheRef

When to harvest potatoes
« on: October 04, 2010, 11:02 »
I am a complete newbie and and have had an allotment since June this year.  I have sowed some potatoes (Carlingford) and to my amazement I got lots of lovely plant thingies growing.  I was advised that once they finish flowering I should cut the stems off so that any blight does not go into the potatoes themselves, which I duly did about a week ago.

Ever since then in Essex we have had rain, rain and more rain, and the ground (clay) is quite soggy.  My question is, when should I harvest and is there anything to be gained by leaving them in the ground.

Many thanks...

bigben

Re: When to harvest potatoes
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2010, 12:20 »
I used to always grow my spuds in sacks before I got an allotment. This year I went mad and planted loads in the ground. I have been digging them out as I needed them but noticed the earlier ones had less holes than the ones I dug up later in the season. I dug up all those left at the start of September.
I would get them out of the ground. They are just too much of a target of slugs, wireworm etc.

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2010, 13:18 »
I didn't plant my 2nd earlies until June, but I've just finished harvesting mine, some really really quite large!  Why don't you dig up a couple and see how they've done so far?

Allotment Jon

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2010, 13:31 »
I did Cara this year and the packet said dig up in September / October.

I dug up a couple of plants in early September and they were fantastic with no holes. The batch I dug up last week was no here near as good and had quite a new holes in.

Even though the plants above ground still looked fine I would agree that the later you leave it the more holes you will have.

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2010, 14:10 »