Can anyone help a newbie with fruit identification please?

• 21 Replies

gembob

I have been looking for plum, sloe or damson trees for the past few days. I have attached a picture of a fruit that I have found. Being a newbie I am a bit unsure of what it is. I am guessing its part of the plum family and that it edible. Has anyone any ideas?

VeggieVirgin

• Experienced Member
Re: Can anyone help a newbie with fruit identification please?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2010, 22:11 »
It's hard to tell from the photo, but if the bush you got it from had whacking great thorns on it, then it's a sloe.

gembob

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2010, 22:20 »
Thanks for the mega quick response. It was more like a tree than a bush and i don't think there were any thorns on it. When I got home, i cut one in half and it had a stone in the middle similar to a plum and smelt plum ish. The tree didn't have large amounts of fruits and the fruit that it did have weren't in clusters if that helps.

VeggieVirgin

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2010, 22:23 »
Thanks for the mega quick response. It was more like a tree than a bush and i don't think there were any thorns on it. When I got home, i cut one in half and it had a stone in the middle similar to a plum and smelt plum ish. The tree didn't have large amounts of fruits and the fruit that it did have weren't in clusters if that helps.

It sounds more like a damson, then - a damson is like a very small plum.

Sloes aren't exactly edible, btw, though if you mix them with gin and sugar and leave them for a couple of months, they're eminently drinkable!

gembob

« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2010, 22:28 »
I was hoping to put any sloes that I find in gin. At this rate i think it will be good old lemon thats going in it. Thanks for the advise on damsons, think ill give them a few more weeks to ripen and then go and get them. Fingers crossed I don't poison myself.

compostqueen

« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2010, 22:31 »