Carrot root fly

• 13 Replies

viettaclark

Carrot root fly
« on: July 29, 2010, 17:39 »
Having followed discussion on this site and googling, I'm a carrot fly expert! :nowink: ::)
Although I have 18" raised beds I had quite a bad attack in my Early Nantes (planted in Feb.under cloche) which is not supposed to happen going by the life cycle!!!
Then I planted (as recommended) in early June in another bed, and blow me they've done it again!! The foliage on some of the Sugarsnax is turning orange and I had to whip out the other Early Nantes.
I've got Autumn King in the same bed which were planted late Jun and I've also got a patch in with my brassicas under scaffold netting. (They'll probably be the best of the lot!!)
Anyway...despite precautions it seems the fly can hatch out in one raised bed and get to another, hopping over the strawberry bed on the way, to lay the next lot of eggs! (Unless they're from elsewhere.)
I won't have any carrots for them to overwinter in so I'm hoping next year the beds will start off free of fly (I'll make doubly sure by digging deep and letting the chooks scratch about) and I shall erect a polythene barrier and see what good THAT does! Then I'll try the mesh...
What I need to know is WHERE DO THE FIRST LOT OF FLIES COME FROM? :mad:

Christine

Re: Carrot root fly
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2010, 17:45 »
I reckon that they thermal in a bit like very small gliders myself.

I want to know where the swift moths came from that attacked my carrots though. And why some of mine went straight to flower on skinny hard roots whilst others developed. Despite all being treated the same.

viettaclark

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2010, 17:53 »
Been a funny old year. Caterpillars EVERWHERE and I've lost stuff despite watering....just shrivelled up!
And don't mention the mildew....aphids....flea beetle....
One good thing (let's be positive)...slugs and snails aren't a problem!
Just off to water again!

DD.

• Global Moderator