Sour Crop help needed!!!

• 5 Replies

Goldfinger

Sour Crop help needed!!!
« on: July 06, 2010, 20:36 »
I'm currently dealing with one of my girls having sour crop, been 3 days now. (I've read up on all the symptoms etc).
And I just want to know what else I can do??

So far I've,

Separated her, (into a cat box with water and 'wet' cat food. Is this ok for being 'soft food' (fish flavour)??),
Emptied her crop (several times now, but it just keeps refilling)
And given her some bio yogurt as suggested on here.

I don't want to go to the vets (yet), because she's picked up a bit today and money's a bit tight at mo.

Is there anything else I can do??  :( :( :(

ehs284

Re: Sour Crop help needed!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2010, 08:37 »
I'm not an expert, so please check everything. When you say,'Fish flavoured' - is this cat food? If so, I'd suggest you may be better with mash or pellets because the cat food will tend to slow the time for the crop establishing the acidity it needs to overcome the problem. Fruit should help and few birds can resist a grape. A little ACV in the water will help.

For more expert members -
This site has some interesting information:
http://fowlfacts.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=afflictiondiseaseff&action=display&thread=1188
and shows using a syringe to wash out. Does anybody do this and has it been successful? It also suggests copper sulphate which is interesting as this is often used in water to kill algae and fungi but is toxic to fish and makes humans vomit. Has anybody seen this used in the UK? Answers would be useful as a search (when panicking) will bring up your comments.

MrsC

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2010, 11:29 »
Have just been through this myself (well, my hen has). 

Don't give pellets! 

Give her plenty of water, put apple cider vinegar in it if you have, if not crushed garlic is good for digestion.  Give her a teaspoon of olive oil a couple of times a day, and one at bedtime.  Plain live yoghurt is good, as is pureed apple.