Help with male cucumber flowers

• 7 Replies

julietmaria

• http://www.thewashablenappy.co.uk
Help with male cucumber flowers
« on: June 07, 2010, 08:27 »
Hi, this is my first time growing cucumber, and in a green house.  I have to remove the male flowers on my plants but finding it a bit confusing knowing which is the male and female flower.  Tried searching on google images but it was still not clear.   It seems to me that the male flowers are much bigger than the female flowers and infact the female does not really flower it just has about four green tiny leaves at the end of a really tiny cucumber.  I have a couple of baby cucumber flowers on the plant, like this, but have been away so not sure if I missed the flowers.  Do the male flowers have a sort of bulbous bit at the end?  Each plant has a few sections of what looks like 3 to 6 flowers growing from one point and I am struggling to know which flowers to break off.    Any detailed advice on the difference in male and female flowers would be really helpful.

Thanks so much and next time around I will grow ones that only have female flowers!
Juliet
A flower cannot blossom without sunshine nor a garden without love

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Help with male cucumber flowers
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2010, 08:44 »
there are some pics here

which variety are you growing julietmaria, as some do not have to have the male flowers removed....it's all very confusing  :unsure:

julietmaria

• http://www.thewashablenappy.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2010, 09:01 »