First duckling hatch - please help!

• 6 Replies

lisacj

First duckling hatch - please help!
« on: June 04, 2010, 09:42 »
Hi all,
I've got my first set of 18 duck eggs in my incubator at 37.5 degrees; 55% humidity (as recommended by the breeder). It's day 6 today and I candled them this morning (no patience.... :() and I think 8 of the 18 are fertile (definitely spider veins and a central dot - on a couple of them I thought I could see a darker dot within the central kidney bean shaped spot).
Sooooo - should I bin the ones that seemed 'empty' or wait a little longer? I got the eggs from a very experienced breeder who promised over 90% fertility, but this is my first try with my first incubator, so I don't want to bin the eggs too early. I'm worried they will rot and infect the rest though?
Also...what are the chances of the fertile ones hatching? I've been told to stop the turn on day 19 and increase the humidity to 60%? Is that right?
Thanks so much!! Sorry for the stupid questions!

Nails

• Experienced Member
    • www.justgiving.com/Donna-Moon
Re: First duckling hatch - please help!
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2010, 10:06 »
Hi Lisa
i am not overly experienced when it comes to duck eggs, and have had a few problems over the last few months, but what i have learnt, from my mistakes, and advise from Kate and others on here, is to get a good book Kate recommended Storey's guide to Raising ducks by Dave Holderread, its a very good book and gives you all the info you need,
As for your eggs, if it were me i would leave for a day or 2 more, then candle again, although you should be able t see if they are fertile from day 5, if you are 100% sure there is nothing in there then bin them as if they explode they make a horrid mess.
Duck eggs incubate for 28 days, stop turning at day 18 temp should stay at 37.5 humidity should be increased to about 70% when they are hatching.
i am sure if any of this is wrong Kate will put you right.
Dont count ya chickens till they hatch!!!!!