Transplanting beetroot

• 17 Replies

JayG

• Global Moderator
Transplanting beetroot
« on: May 21, 2010, 08:08 »
I'm a newbie to growing beetroot but as an allegedly experienced grower of others things I sowed the seeds carefully, thinly, and evenly and after a slow start they are growing away quite nicely.

"You-know-whose" law has of course made a mockery of my efforts and some seedlings are growing virtually on top of each other, elsewhere there are gaps!

Can the thinnings be transplanted successfully? (variety is Chioggia Pink, by the way.)

Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

stompy

Re: Transplanting beetroot
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2010, 08:24 »
Are they in cells or the ground?

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2010, 09:15 »
In the ground.

My soil is very light and I'm sure they'll come out easily enough without damage; just a question of whether they will grow properly after being moved, I guess.  :nowink:

noshed

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2010, 09:19 »
They will be fine, just handle them gently by the leaves and water them in well. Make sure they don't dry out in the first week or so. I always water my seedlings with seaweed fertiliser or comfrey tea just to help them get over the shock but I'm not sure this makes that much difference.
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

stompy

« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2010, 09:19 »
The only way i could see it working is if you took some soil with them too, they dont transplant very well, especially in this warm weather.
The only other way is to start some in cells and fill the gaps that way.

Salmo

« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2010, 09:22 »
Why not just stick some seed in the gaps and keep them watered until they emerge?

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2010, 09:35 »