I have 6 raspberry canes but nowhere to plant them yet :(

• 3 Replies

Dan78

• Experienced Member
Have been busy digging my new allotment over the last month and have managed about half!

Ordered some raspberries and they arrived today.. The little leaflet says to give freshly dug ground a week or so before planting.. the leaflet also says to plant as soon as possible after recieving plants..

The plants are in a plastic bag with the canes sticking out and I can dig up a bed for them this weekend. Should i wait a while before planting into my newly dug bed or can i stick them straight in after removing the grass and a quick dig over ? If I should wait what can i do with the plants in the meantime ?

Also is there anything i can do to make the soil nice for them ? I have some blood fish and bone but not sure whats best for raspberries ?

Thanks people.. im new to all this :)

Trillium

Re: I have 6 raspberry canes but nowhere to plant them yet :(
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2010, 01:48 »
You have bare-rooted plants in the boxes so they'll need to be planted asap. The soil should be well weeded, preferably with some sort of composted manure added along with a good handful or 2  of your bone & fish meals, all mixed in, a deep watering if the soil is dry, then the roots planted. They don't go in too deep, just at the level you see on the stalks (rasps are shallow rooted plants). Keep the soil area well weeded so roots don't compete, and water often the first season if necessary. Your plants won't need any root pruning but maybe just a bit of stalk pruning. And don't worry about frost - raspberries are as hardy as they come.
Once they come into production in another year or two, you'll probably have to net them against birds who adore anything red.