mouldy seeds

• 7 Replies

massa

• Experienced Member
mouldy seeds
« on: February 11, 2010, 22:00 »
hi, im new to growing my own produce and last week i sowed some seeds in compost i got from the allotment shop and mixed in some pearlite as i was shown to do. i placed them on the windowsill in the spare room at home. i have been checking them everyday and they have not started to come up yet (i didnt expect them too really) but there is a small amount of white furry mould on top of the seed trays. is this normal? or do i need to do anything?

Trillium

Re: mouldy seeds
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2010, 01:54 »
You have a fungus called damp off which happens from excessive watering or too wet soil mix or not enough air circulation along with too cool temps.

You can sort this with a spray of a damping off treatment available at garden centres or just brew a bit of camomile tea, let it cool, then lightly water the plants with the tea. It has very good anti fungal properties. Be sure your pots have drainage holes and are not close to drafts or cold areas and that should sort them.

chriscross1966

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2010, 02:38 »
It might not be damping off. I had a problem like this on some of the modules I sowed onion seed in and it doesn't seem to have affected germination... Damping off won't survive cheshunt compound but this stuff seems to.... I think it's in the compost cos I can't see it being in the sand that I mixed it with,

What seeds are you growing? Are you using a heated propagator?

chrisc

zazen999

« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2010, 08:50 »
Whatever it is; it's because you have soil that is too wet. Stop watering until the soil is dry, then pour water into the saucer and what hasn't been absorbed in 15 mins pour away.

I am watering my seedlings about once a week at the minute. And only if they need it.

massa

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2010, 11:25 »