Tactics with lettuce...

• 5 Replies

lisajpickering

Tactics with lettuce...
« on: September 09, 2009, 21:06 »
Hi everyone

I was flicking through a gardening mag the other day and noticed some pictures of raised beds crammed full of veg and, noticeably, a fair bit of lettuce.  The caption read something like "with beds as full as this, weeds can't get in".  And this got me thinking...

What if I just broadcast lettuce seeds among my other crops - I mean pretty much everywhere!  In theory it would stop the weeds - they would keep the slugs/snails busy and off my plants and it wouldn't matter if lots bolted, were eaten by pests or trodden on coz I'd have loads.

Now then.  I'm thinking there must be a downside to this theory.  The only thing I can think of is that the lettuce would take a fair bit of water and nutients that would otherwise be going to my plants (assuming I kept the weeds at bay).  But I'm new to this veg growing lark and suspect I may have missed something obvious.  What do you clever bods think?

Lisa

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Tactics with lettuce...
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2009, 21:10 »
The instant draw back I can see is that slugs would breed in such an enviroment & you'd have an even bigger problem. They can't read the notice that says "please eat the lettuce only".

As for bolted lettuce - that can overshadow many a plant.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

JRRD

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 21:45 »