Bubbly eyes and chesty :(

• 11 Replies

Chookiechook

• riverside quails
Bubbly eyes and chesty :(
« on: August 17, 2009, 22:13 »
Hi  :)

I am a newbie today and have my first  question all lined up for you :)

I have four newish battery hens who are laying well and seem fairly well... apart from one who has bubbly eyes occasionally and they are all a bit rattly :(

I think perhaps it is a respiratory infection (mycoplasma)?? but am not sure what I need to give them.

My vet is not at all chickeny but will probably let me buy some meds from him.

I have a little bit of Baytril which I was given for my hamster..... but not enough to mix in water..... could I administer it directly to the chooks???  And if so how much???

Thanks for any replies that I get.  :)

I love Pekins, Polands and Seramas :) and eggs!!!

nicchick

• Experienced Member
Re: Bubbly eyes and chesty :(
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2009, 22:25 »
Hi, get some baytril - injections if you can as they work faster and better and are not that expensive. Infections spread quickly and chickens hide their symptoms so they are really ill by the time you notice. Baytril is relatively safe and a good antibiotic for chickens. Nic.

Chookiechook

• riverside quails
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2009, 22:26 »
Not sure I would be able to jab them :(  Do you know the dosage for oral administration rather than just putting it in their water :)

Foxy

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2009, 22:28 »