Pellets dilemma!

• 8 Replies

ycholmes

Pellets dilemma!
« on: July 17, 2009, 13:07 »
Hi, I am very new to keeping chickens.  We got 3 to keep in our garden 3 weeks ago.  3 lovely girls, 1 Rhode Ranger, 1 Sussex Ranger and 1 Black Pearl.  They have a coop with a run all in one for the night, and a large run in the day.  At first they were feeding well (on the same pellets that we got from the breeder) but now they don't seem to be eating many layers pellets (even with the Poulty Spice on them) .  I am worried that they are not eating enough.  The Sussex and Pearl seem ok, but the Rhodie who is so friendly goes beserk in the evening when we come home from work for her mixed corn or other scraps we have.  It appears she is desperate for the food.  What is going wrong?  What can I do?

poultrygeist

Re: Pellets dilemma!
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 13:15 »
Hi ycholmes. Welcome  :)

Is their big run on grass and can they scratch about for worms, etc ?

They may be getting enough from ranging through the day but will always go mad for treats, even if they're full. Do their crops appear to be full ? It's slightly to the left on the front and should appear to be slightly bulging.

the other possibility is that one is being bullied away from the pellets and may find it less scary to wait for the treats/corn.

Is there anyone there during the day ?

Rob 8)

ycholmes

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 13:27 »
Hi Rob, thanks for the welcome.