very sad day

• 15 Replies

claredav

very sad day
« on: July 16, 2009, 19:03 »
hello everyone. i am new to this and need some advise.
We had 15 hens and over a few months they were stolen, they took 3 hens at a time.
On the last trip they took 3 hens an set fire to there coop with 1 hen in it, she servived although her feet and cone were burnt and she lost her wing feathers and was singed all over.

We moved her to the garden gave her a few weeks to recover and lots of TLC then gave her some friends, 5 rescue hens, all was well until  this morning.

We went to feed them and THEY HAD ALL GONE, a few feathers were in the door way to the coop (which we leave open), and that was all.
They have a 6 foot fence round them and a brook down one side.

can anyone tell me if this sounds like a fox attack or are the theifts back??? :(
also behind our house is an open field there were about 6 feathers and on the road was one of our hens that looked like it had been run over, the road is about 200yards from our garden

« Last Edit: July 16, 2009, 19:15 by claredav »

peapod

• Pea Goddess
Re: very sad day
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2009, 19:05 »
Sorry your first post is so sad Claredav, Ive popped it here in the HH for lots of answers
"I think the carrot infinitely more fascinating than the geranium. The carrot has mystery. Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees. There is, you'll agree, a certain je ne sais quoi oh so very special about a firm young carrot" Withnail and I

purplebat

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2009, 21:42 »
Claredav, I'm so sorry! what an awful thing to happen! it doesn't sound like a fox to me, I could be wrong but I would have thought there'd be more evidence left behind.
Are they in a run? If so, has it got a gate/door that you could lock?
If Life gives you lemons, - Make Lemonade

Kate and her Ducks

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2009, 21:49 »