Free ranging chooks

• 7 Replies

sistersioux

Free ranging chooks
« on: May 29, 2009, 09:59 »
Hi, hope you can all help me as I'm new to chicken keeping.

I've got 4 chooks that are free ranging in my back garden. The garden is about 20 ft square with 5ft walls with a lovely area for my chooks to scratch around and they are very happy and laying every day but today a friend of mine has told me she thinks that legally they have to be kept a certain distance from the house, can anybody advise me on this?, I love having the girls come to the back door to talk to me!!!!

Foxy

Re: Free ranging chooks
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2009, 10:06 »
Hi Sistersioux, I have never heard that! mine nip into the kitchen and pinch the cat food when my backs turned! :lol:

welcome to the forums! :D

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2009, 11:36 »
If you had to keep chickens a certain distance from the house, then a lot of our chook keepers with handkerchief sized gardens would have to give their chooks up.

Perhaps you have to keep them a certain distance from someone else's house?  But I've never heard of it either.  Is your friend a chicken keeper?  does she know what she's talking about????    :)

sistersioux

« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2009, 12:39 »
Thanks for the help, yes she is a chicken keeper, that's why I got worried thought she might know what she was talking about but she keeps hers on an allotment.

Thought it was a bit silly but I'd better check, so many stupid rules these days!!

Thanks again

Foxy

« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2009, 13:21 »
Well if you have a small garden, the only issue I would watch out for is probably vermin, mice/rats/smells and also flies can be irritating. However, by practising good husbandry (which I am sure you do! :D) there shouldn't really be a problem ;) :)

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2009, 13:36 »