Novice Here...Thinking of getting Ex-Battery Hens

• 16 Replies

Timbo47

• Tim Brooks
Novice Here...Thinking of getting Ex-Battery Hens
« on: April 30, 2009, 16:12 »
Hi Members, I've just joined on here, as I'm in the process of thinking of getting  two or three Hens from a sanctury that rescues Battery Hens. I'm also going to build my own Hen house/run , that will be 3ft x 10ft in area, about 4ft high. How many Hens would this suit?. I guess the House would be 3ftx3ft with the rest being the run and below the house too.   What is best as the floor of the run, as I was thinking Grass? Or would Bark chippings be suitable?. Or would a roof over the whole  thing be best?
I just need some basic Info really, being a novice.
Are illnesses quite common in hens?. I look forward to any comments here.
Thank you in advance!
                                                Tim

matilda duck

Re: Novice Here...Thinking of getting Ex-Battery Hens
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 16:19 »
Hi Tim welcome to the madhouse!!!!

Just a little one .....Ex-Batts are wonderfull BUT incredibly hard work.  When you get them some cant stand and don't know how to move let alone run around and do chickeny things.  Alot of them will have gone through quite a trauma from going from the farm to the pick up point, and then to travel to your house.  We had 4 and 1 just couldn't cope and died after a week, 2 are very healthy looking, and 1 still looks oven ready!!

Good luck with what you do and theres loads of advice on here.  I hope I havn't upset you or put you off thats not my intention...I just want you to be happy with your choice.

Timbo47

• Tim Brooks
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 16:26 »
Hi, thanks for that. The Sanctuary in question already has the Hens running around in a nice paddock, so maybe they should be fit enough?.  Though another question  or two I have is......Would I need a Cockerell?  I'd hope not, due to living in a residential area.