Potatoes

• 30 Replies

darthpaul

• Host Fantastic
Potatoes
« on: April 17, 2009, 07:19 »
Ok being a total noobie I have been trying to read up and work out potatoes! My dad has given me some Swift seed potatoes this week that are chitted and ready to plant. I have some bags to plant them in and will be planting on the weekend once I can buy some compost.

I only have 2 bags but 9 seeds so I plan on planting 6, 3 in each bag. On the packet it says they are first earlies, does that mean I am too late to plant? Should I plant all 6 at once or stagger the planting to lengthen the time between harvests?

If I want "main crop" potatoes am I too late to buy these for planting? And if not how is best to do these in containers?  ???
My Growing Blog

I also run a Web Hosting Company and a popular Fish Keeping Website

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Potatoes
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2009, 07:30 »
"Earlies", "Second Earlies" & "Maincrop" more refer to the time of growth taken to maturity, than harvest time. Earlies take about 13 weeks, Maincrop or "Lates" about 22. Thus if all planted  at the same time Earlies will mature earlier!

If I were you, I'd get them all in at once, if you try & hold back the seed spud will start to go wizened and the chits long, you'll find you'll soon get through 3 roots of your home grown anyway.

It's still quiet early in the spud planting season, but whether the stockists have any maincrop is a different matter, you'll have to have a shop around.

Growing wise, treat them the same, but don't harvest until the haulms, (foliage), starts to die down. With earlies, when the plant is in flower, scrape away a little soil to see what's there. If not big enough, try again later.

Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

darthpaul

• Host Fantastic
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2009, 08:07 »