Feed prices and sheds for henhouses?

• 5 Replies

gavin9900

Feed prices and sheds for henhouses?
« on: April 02, 2009, 20:16 »
Hi all,

I have been offered 10 hens because their currant keeper doesn't want them anymore. How much should i expect to pay to feed 10 chickens in a month? I originally only ever expected to have 3 hens so the 4'x4' henhouse i'm building will have to be sold and replaced with my spare shed. How do i make a shed into a comfortable henhouse for them, are there any special tricks of the trade?
If it makes any difference the chickens are fairly large and 2 years old (RIR i think but i'm not sure).
Also how many eggs should i expect from ten hens?

trinacooke

• www.freewebs.com/trinacooke
Re: Feed prices and sheds for henhouses?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2009, 20:35 »
Hi I am new to chicken keeping but am learning all the time and this forum is really the right place to ask ...they are great  :D

I feed my chickens Marriges Farmyard Layers Pellets I pay aroung £6.50 for a 20klo sack which last me about 2 months (I Think  :blink:) they are eating alot more at the moment as they are laying lots of lovely eggs.

If your chickens are 2 years old plus I would have thought they would not lay that many eggs, I am not an expert though on thid and somebody with more experience will be along soon.  :)

Trina
Breeder, Judge & Exhibitor of Quality Netherland Dwarf, Hulstlander & Himalayan Rabbits

4x chickens 30x rabbits, 2x dogs, 15x ferrets oh and 2 children and a hubby!!!!!

karlooben

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2009, 20:42 »