shell-less eggs

• 7 Replies

fifisparrow

shell-less eggs
« on: March 05, 2009, 18:44 »
I wonder if anyone can help. I have 2 chickens and one of them has laid 2 shell-less eggs over the past 3 weeks. The laying has dropped off a lot over the winter and the shells of some have been thin or knobbled but then they have produced these strange eggs without shells. We give them see shell suppliment in an organic layers pellet.
Any advice appreciated.
Weed 'em and reap.

flynnbob

Re: shell-less eggs
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2009, 19:40 »
We too have had a shell-less egg today as well as a tiny egg!  The chickens are otherwise all laying really well - any ideas why we should have these strange eggs?

trinacooke

• www.freewebs.com/trinacooke
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2009, 19:50 »
Hello

I am very new to chickens and am having my own problems one problem was feather pecking which got rather nasty blood shed etc ...... which I have now resolved (hopefully) this was in my case diet they got protein/vitamins in the form of bird sand and cat food and this problem has cleared up!

I expect your problem is diet related too! I think they are not getting enough calcium they should have oyster shell available at all times (found out via forum) and I also crush up my used egg shells after cooking them in the oven for 20 mins I use a pestle and morter so they are fine and then sprinkle them in with the layer pellets.

I also understand that pullets sometimes lay shell less eggs when they are starting to lay as the reproductive system gets used to laying and it does sort its self out!

The members on this forum are very helpful and I have learned so much already! (now just got to stop my girls eating their eggs!!!! >:( :tongue2: :tongue2:)

Hope this has helped!  :)

Trina
Breeder, Judge & Exhibitor of Quality Netherland Dwarf, Hulstlander & Himalayan Rabbits

4x chickens 30x rabbits, 2x dogs, 15x ferrets oh and 2 children and a hubby!!!!!

fifisparrow