new ex batt hens

• 23 Replies

gaz.grace

• R&G PLASTERING
new ex batt hens
« on: March 01, 2009, 20:03 »
Hi all ,
                I picked my 3 ex batt hens up today , They where home about a hour and one had laid an egg . As this is my first time with hens i was like wow  :ohmy:  lol.

they did not seem to come out of the shed much which is now theres that was untill it started getting dark they where out and about trying to fly all over (why was this ) . one was looking up at the wall as though she was thinking im off over that when i can so i think it wont belong till there trying to get over the wall , i hope they dont beacause its a walkway with trees on that belongs to the council and out of there is a busy road ... when would any one advise to cut there wings back to prevent that . they seem to be done  for now as they cant really fly .. anyway heres a few picks of them for you to see ..
thanks
SV200583.jpg
SV200581.jpg

karlooben

Re: new ex batt hens
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2009, 20:07 »
well done for getting the ex batts . mine ones havent had thier wings clipped yet i am a bit worried about doing it but i have heard that sometimes it doesnt always work not that i am trying to scare u or anything .
can u not make the wall taller by adding something on top of it , or even place strands of wire along it somehow .
"Until one has loved an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

gaz.grace

• R&G PLASTERING
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2009, 20:18 »
hi
 i know im a bit worried about doing it myself.. if its a problem i will do something with the wall though ..   :D

cant wait too see if there is any eggs in the morning.

still cant figure out why they came out as soon as it got darker  :wacko:

hope yours are all doing well .  ;) 

Foxy

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2009, 20:47 »